People

The applicant group brings together expertise from five of Ireland’s seven universities as well as one of its Institutes of Technology.

The Leadership Team

Professor Barry O'Sullivan

University College Cork
[ Web-site ]

Dr. Suzanne Little

Dublin City University
[ Web-site ]

Dr. Derek Bridge

University College Cork.
[ Web-site ]

Dr. Paul Buitelaar

NUI Galway.
[ Web-site ]

Dr. Ivana Dusparic

Trinity College Dublin.
[ Web-site ]

Professor Tiziana Margaria

University of Limerick.
[ Web-site ]

Professor Barry O'Sullivan (CRT Director). Professor O’Sullivan works in the fields of constraint programming and machine learning. He serves in a number of leadership roles at an international level in the field of artificial intelligence. He is the current President of the European Artificial Intelligence Association (EurAI), one of the largest AI associations in the world with approximately 4500 members across 30 countries. He is also the Vice Chair of the European Commission's High-level Expert Group on Artificial Intelligence (AI HLG). Along with Professor Michael Wooldridge (Oxford), he is co-founding editor of Springer’s book-series Artificial Intelligence: Foundations, Theory, and Algorithms.

Dr. Suzanne Little (Co-Director, DCU). Dr. Little is an assistant professor in the School of Computing at Dublin City University and an SFI Funded Investigator in the Insight Centre for Data Analytics. Her research interests are in the area of multimedia semantics and she uses tools from artificial intelligence, machine learning, computer vision and information retrieval to improve methods for content-based media analytics.

Dr. Derek Bridge (Co-Director, UCC). Derek Bridge has nearly two decades’ of experience in the fields of recommender systems, personalisation, and machine learning. He is one of the founders of the ACM Conference in Recommender Systems and co-chaired it in 2008. His research covers many topics within recommender systems, most notably case-based recommenders, conversational recommenders, group recommendations, diversity and serendipity, and explanations.

Dr. Paul Buitelaar (Co-Director, NUIG). Paul Buitelaar has more than 20 years’ experience in the field of natural language processing (NLP). His scientific contributions have been specifically in establishing connections between NLP and semantic technologies based on Semantic Web and Linked Data approaches. He coordinated several EU funded collaborative projects on this topic, which have been influential in establishing an international community of researchers with focus on the integrated use of NLP and semantic technologies.

Dr. Ivana Dusparic (Co-Director, TCD). Dr. Ivana Dusparic is an Ussher Assistant Professor in Future Cities and the Internet of Things in the School of Computer Science and Statistics at Trin- ity College Dublin. Her research interests lie in the use of Artificial Intelligence to achieve autonomous optimization of large-scale heterogeneous infrastructures, with particular fo- cus on smart cities applications – smart grid and sustainable urban mobility.

Professor Tiziana Margaria (Co-Director, UL). Prof. Margaria is Chair of Software Systems at the University of Limerick (Ireland), where she is currently Head of the Department of Computer Science and Information Systems. Her career funding totals over €80 million, over €18m of which to the own institution. Her broad research experience in the development and use of formal methods for high assurance systems, in particular concerning functional verification, reliability, and compliance of complex heterogeneous systems.

Supervisors

We bring together a team of 59 named supervisors, including the co-applicants, who work across the set of research themes in our research programme. The table below illustrates the primary competency of each supervisor, for each participating institution. In many cases the interests of the supervisors are broader than these themes. For example, many of the machine learning supervisors also work in areas related to personalisation, while a number of the reasoning supervisors also work in areas related to ethics, fair, and transparent AI.

Name Location Email Topics Example PhD Project
Prof. Geraldine Boylan UCC g.boylan@ucc.ie Neonatal Health, Machine Learning AI for interpretation of neonatal EEG
Dr. Derek Bridge UCC d.bridge@cs.ucc.ie Recommender Systems, Case-based Reasoning, Machine Learning Contestable Explanations for Recommendations
Prof. Ken Brown UCC k.brown@cs.ucc.ie Constraints, Machine Learning, Sensors, Networks Optimal guidance in co-working manufacturing spaces between robots and humans
Dr. Aisling O’Driscoll UCC a.odriscoll@cs.ucc.ie Networks, AI, Smart Cities AI for Channel Congestion Control for Cellular Vehicle to Everything Networks
Prof. Dirk Pesch UCC d.pesch@cs.ucc.ie Wireless sensor networks, AI ML for autonomous operation of networked IoT in smart cities and future manufacturing
Prof. Barry O'Sullivan UCC b.osullivan@cs.ucc.ie Constraint Programming, Machine Learning, Ethics The Ethics of Artificial Intelligence
Dr. Paolo Palmieri UCC p.palmieri@cs.ucc.ie Privacy, security, analytics De-anonymisation using artificial intelligence, and couter-measures
Dr. Emanuel Popovici UCC e.popovici@ucc.ie AI, machine learning, sonofication Hardware Accelerators for Big Data Security
Dr. Steve Prestwich UCC s.prestwich@cs.ucc.ie Constraints, Optimisation, Stochastic Programming Stochastic Constraint Programming as Reinforcement Learning
Prof. Greg Provan UCC g.provan@cs.ucc.ie Diagnosis, Model-based Reasoning, Robotics, Embedded Systems Learning fault-tolerant control for autonomous systems
Dr. Laura Climent UCC Laura.Climent@cit.ie Constraint Programming, Optimisation, Machine Learning Robust solutions for optimization problems in Smart Cities
Dr. Alejandro Arbelaez UCC Alejandro.Arbelaez@cit.ie Constraint Programming, Optimisation, Machine Learning Machine Learning and Combinatorial Optimization for cloud resource management
Dr. Brendan O’Flynn Tyndall brendan.oflynn@tyndall.ie Wearables Data Analytics "On the Edge" for health and wellness monitoring
Dr. Ignacio Castineiras CIT Ignacio.Castineiras@cit.ie Constraint Programming, Optimisation, Machine Learning Heuristics for Autonomous Vehicle Routing Problems
Dr. Diarmuid Grimes CIT Diarmuid.Grimes@cit.ie Constraint Programming, Optimisation, Machine Learning Biasing prediction for end-use stochastic optimisation applications
Dr. Marija Bezbradica DCU marija.bezbradica@dcu.ie Complex System Modelling, Analytics, Applied Maths, Statistics Smart Cities: Modelling emerging behaviour in traffic flows using AI and ML
Dr. Martin Crane DCU martin.crane@dcu.ie Time Series Analysis, Computational Finance, Bioinformatics Modelling a Client's Propensity to Repay a Loan in Debt Data
Dr. Lorna Fitzsimons DCU lorna.fitzsimons@dcu.ie Water-energy nexus, energy modelling and analysis ML tools to control and optimise reverse osmosis performance
Dr. Cathal Gurrin DCU cathal.gurrin@dcu.ie Multimedia IR, Lifelogging, Quantified Self, Personal Data Personal Data Anonymisaiton
Dr. Markus Helfert DCU markus.helfert@dcu.ie Enterprise Computing Informations Systems Information Quality ML for improving Data Quality in heterogeneous data systems
Prof. Gareth Jones DCU gareth.jones@dcu.ie NLP, Information Retrieval, Multimedia Technologies, HCI Dynamic multi-modal composition and delivery of information in context-aware search
Dr. Tanya Levingstone DCU tanya.levingstone@dcu.ie Biomedical Engineering Applications Computational models for predicting results in complex tissue engineering applications
Dr. Suzanne Little DCU suzanne.little@dcu.ie Multimedia Semantics, Content-based Information Retrieval Transparent and explainable AI models for visual content analysis
Dr. Alessandra Mileo DCU alessandra.mileo@dcu.ie Symbolic, Probabilistic and Neural AI, Complex Reasoning Explainable Deep Learning
Dr. Andrew McCarren DCU andrew.mccarren@dcu.ie Data Analytics Data Mining Statistics Fintech AI to help identify the appropriate techniques to be used in a Time series Analysis
Prof. Barry McMullin DCU barry.mcmullin@dcu.ie Sustainable Energy Systems, Complex Systems Modelling Agent based modelling of socio-technological interactions for decarbonisation
Prof. Noel O’Connor DCU noel.oconnor@dcu.ie Multimedia Content Analysis, ML, Computer Vision Semantic Segmentation of 3D Data for Autonomous Vehicles
Dr. Mark Roantree DCU mark.roantree@dcu.ie Distributed Information Systems Integration & Interoperability Using existing semi-populated data marts and query answering
Prof. Mathieu d’Aquin NUIG mathieu.daquin@insight-centre.org Knowledge representation, Automated reasoning Ontological interpretation of machine learning models
Dr. John Breslin NUIG john.breslin@nuigalway.ie Social Networks Evaluating Dataset Augmentation Techniques: Generating Synthetic Text for Natural Language
Dr. Paul Buitelaar NUIG paul.buitelaar@insight-centre.org Natural Language Processing, Linked Data A text mining approach to event detection in sensor data
Dr. Ed Curry NUIG edward.curry@insight-centre.org Multimedia Event Processing, Distributed Machine Learning Probabilistic Models for Multi-scale Data Governance in Smart Environments
Dr. Jim Duggan NUIG james.duggan@nuigalway.ie Simulation An ML Approach to Investigating Temporal Dynamics in Infectious Disease Spread.
Prof. Michael Madden NUIG michael.madden@nuigalway.ie Machine Learning Multi-agent reinforcement learning algorithms for robotic first response in critical incidents
Dr. John McCrae NUIG John.McCrae@insight-centre.org Natural Language Processing, Linked Data Polylingual Word Embeddings for Minority and Historical Languages
Dr. Matthias Nickles NUIG matthias.nickles@nuigalway.ie Reasoning, Machine Learning Deep Learning for Reflective Reasoning
Dr. Colm O’Riordan NUIG colm.oriordan@nuigalway.ie Machine Learning, Evolutionary Computation Axiomatic approaches to term embeddings in adhoc IR Retrieval
Dr. Joeran Beel TCD beelj@scss.tcd.ie ML, Text processing, NLP Federated Meta-Learning: Algorithm Selection, Meta-Learning, and Automated ML
Dr. Melanie Bouroche TCD melanie.bouroche@scss.tcd.ie Connected Autonomous Vehicles Coordination of Connected Autonomous Vehicles
Prof. Vinny Cahill TCD vinny.cahill@scss.tcd.ie Machine Learning Reinforcement learning for connected and autonomous vehicles
Prof. Siobhan Clarke TCD siobhan.clarke@scss.tcd.ie Software Engineering for Dynamic Urban Services, IoT Predictive monitoring for dependable service provisioning in IoT
Prof. Owen Conlan TCD owen.conlan@scss.tcd.ie Personalisation Contextually-agile interactive personalisation approaches
Dr. Ivana Dusparic TCD duspari@scss.tcd.ie Intelligent Agents, Reinforcement Learning, Intelligent Transport Adaptive Reinforcement Learning for Future Cities
Prof. Lucy Hederman TCD hederman@scss.tcd.ie Health Informatics Managing and governing health AI data using knowledge graphs
Dr. George Iosifidis TCD George.Iosifidis@tcd.ie Managing and governing health AI data using knowledge graphs Optimization Algorithms for Designing Multi-tier Heterogeneous Networks
Dr. Dave Lewis TCD dave.lewis@adaptcentre.ie Knowledge-driven data governance Collective Governance of Sensed Data in Built Environments
Dr. Conor McGinn TCD c.mcginn@tcd.ie Robotics Learning from shared control
Prof. Declan O’Sullivan TCD declan.osullivan@scss.tcd.ie AI-based data integration and semantic mapping Transparent AI for ethical data integration
Dr. Malachy Eaton UL malachy.eaton@ul.ie Evolutionary Computation, ML, Humanoid Robotics Evolutionary Computation and Machine Learning applied to Humanoid Robotics
Dr. Patrick Healy UL patrick.healy@ul.ie Optimisation, Constraint Satisfaction, Graph Drawing Weighted Graph Partitioning
Prof. Michael Hinchey UL mike.hinchey@lero.ie Formal Methods, Software Reliability, Autonomic Computing Formal approaches to autonomous vehicles and multi-vehicle coordination
Prof. Tiziana Margaria UL tiziana.margaria@ul.ie Formal Methods, Automated Software Dev., Model Learning Rule-based decision support systems real time stabilization of Transmission Electron Microscopy
Dr. John Nelson UL John.Nelson@ul.ie Sensors, Distributed AI, Edge AI AI for self-monitoring and primary care intervention for stroke patients
Dr. Nikola Nikolov UL nikola.nikolov@ul.ie Data visualization, mining and representation Immersive Analytics for Big Networks; Immersive Cluster Analysis for Large Text Corpora
Prof. Bashar Nuseibeh UL Bashar.Nuseibeh@lero.ie Security, Privacy, Ethics, Fair, Transparent AI Combining inductive learning with abductive explanations for adaptive security systems
Professor Conor Ryan UL conor.ryan@ul.ie Evolutionary Computation, Machine Learning Automatically generating ensembles of Machine Learning models
Professor Daniel Toal UL Daniel.Toal@ul.ie Robotics, Machine Learning Autonomy for Exploration in Complex and High-Risk Environments
Dr. Pepijn Van de Ven UL pepijn.vandeven@ul.ie Behavioural health, mental health, Personalisation Machine Learning for mood and depressive state prediction and intervention

Email a Query